Important Facts About Workers’ Comp in Maryland
After a job injury, Maryland workers’ compensation laws allow qualifying employees to receive benefits to prevent financial hardships while they heal. However, obtaining these benefits is not always simple. Many people find their claims denied at first. But do not fear — you’ve still got options if you’ve been denied.
Understanding Workers’ Compensation in MD
Here’s what you need to know about workers’ comp in Maryland:
- A claim must be filed with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission for you to protect your rights. Do not assume that because the insurance company has assigned you a case number that your rights are protected. In most situations, if you have not filed a claim with the state of Maryland within two years of your injury, you are barred from all future benefits.
- All Maryland employers with one or more employees are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Failure to comply can result in penalties.
- Only employees are entitled to workers’ comp benefits. Not all workers are considered employees under state law. In many cases, non-employees, independent contractors, volunteers, business owners, and certain other categories of workers are not legally defined as employees and are therefore not entitled to workers’ comp benefits. However, some workers can be legally considered employees even if their job titles indicate otherwise.
- Not all injuries are covered by workers’ comp. Workers’ comp only covers injuries that arise “out of and in the course of employment.” Just because you were hurt while you were at work does not necessarily mean that your injury will be covered. For example, if you were injured on the job while you were engaged in horseplay, intoxicated to the point of which causes your injury, or intentionally placing yourself in harm’s way, you are likely not eligible for workers’ comp benefits.
- Claims may be delayed due to incomplete documentation. Workers’ comp claims are frequently delayed if key pieces of information are missing. If you experience delays because you didn’t provide sufficient evidence, an experienced Maryland workers’ compensation attorney can help collect the documents you need for an appeal.
- You can choose your doctor. If you require regular medical attention to treat your work-related injury, you have the right to choose your own physician in Maryland. However, your employer has the right to request an examination by a company-approved doctor before your workers’ comp benefits are approved.
How to Get the Most Out of Your Settlement
To maximize the value of your Maryland workers’ comp claim, you should:
- Report the injury to your employer within 10 days of the injury (either verbally or in writing). Family members of a deceased worker have 30 days to notify their employer.
- Seek prompt and appropriate medical attention for your injuries.
- Understand the types of benefits available to you, including coverage for medical treatment, lost wages, job retraining, and disability benefits.
- Keep detailed records of your injury and accident-related expenses to support your claim for maximum compensation.
- Contact a knowledgeable Maryland workers’ compensation attorney to assist you throughout the claims process.
Contact the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers at Trollinger Law Today
If you were injured on the job in Maryland, talk to the workers’ compensation lawyers at Trollinger Law LLC today. Our legal team focuses exclusively on workers’ compensation and personal injury law. We know what it takes to build a strong claim for compensation and strive to resolve any disputes efficiently and effectively. Call or contact us today for a free consultation.